About Us


I gave up a lucrative and fulfilling career to become a full-time mother to a daughter who has grown into a lovely young woman. She once remarked on how I was such an excellent witness to her life. She was referring to the scrapbooks I gave her when she graduated from elementary school and middle school. I was planning on giving her another scrapbook upon graduation from high school, but I decided to write an essay instead. And I could not stop with one essay. All the memories simply came rushing in like a tidal wave, and I wrote at a frantic pace, frightened that I would forget.

I thought of her high school graduation as the day of my retirement from motherhood. I was always going to be her mother, and I was always going to be around to support her, but it was time to reinvent myself yet again.
After seventeen years of staying at home, and against all odds, I have since rejoined the workforce as an institutional dining facility manager. I find myself with a career again, and yet, there is something strangely missing in my life. The work is challenging and rewarding. I look forward to each day, but working again has confirmed to me that I made the right choice in being a full-time mother. I could not have balanced a career and motherhood. I would have shortchanged my daughter. Working has also made me realize that the seventeen years I spent being a mother were the best years of my life, and that those years will never be surpassed by anything.

Here is our story.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cam
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 23:59:31

    I just wanted to say, I just finished all your posts! You have a lovely way with your words. I can feel your love for your daughter. Keep up the good work! I landed here on accident from your comment on the Amy Chua essay.

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 16:00:07

    Wonderful beginning. I’m interested in a little more on your work re-entry story–it could be encouraging or at least useful

    Reply

    • haha
      Feb 06, 2011 @ 22:16:12

      Thank you. I am afraid I am not a writer. Just a stay-at-home mom who wrote a bunch of essays to give to her daughter.

      GCM

      Reply

  3. The Sleeping Dragon
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 12:58:15

    Hello there!

    I stumbled upon your site though one of the articles I read on Amy Chua. I have read a few of your post and I thought that they were brilliantly written. A few of your essays brought a lump to my throat, and I reckon, as a new mother, I have much to learn, You have the patience of a saint! 😀 and I guess I shall be perusing your essays to look for tips every now and then as a way to arm myself when my daughter gets older. Looking forward to reading more! 🙂

    Reply

    • haha
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 13:37:14

      Dear The Sleeping Dragon,

      Thank you very much for visiting my blog. And your kind words are very much appreciated. I wrote the essays as a high school graduation present to Maia. I did not think they would be of interest to anybody but Maia and myself. I uploaded them as a blog only because I felt very, very strongly about the tiger mother parenting style.

      I now have a column with the Washington Times…

      http://communities.washingtontimes.com/neighborhood/east-meets-west-parenting/

      And the essays are also published by The International Indian, a bimonthly magazine for Indian professionals and business people.

      http://www.theinternationalindian.com/current_issue.html#C1

      There are so many ways to parent, and I am truly fortunate in that I somehow found the right balance, and the best way to be a mother to Maia. I continue to try and maintain that balance, and with the passing of the years, I am realizing that being Maia’s mother is what I do best, and what I enjoy most.

      GCM

      Reply

Leave a Reply

