A Chapter Ends


M has graduated from college. Four years of hard work has earned her honours and awards, and while I rejoice in her academic achievements, I feel great relief in knowing that her success is also a result of lessons learned from failures and disappointments.

On her own, far away from me, M battled the frightening depths of depression, and the bewildering sense of being lost and without direction. And there was not much that I could do but watch, and hope that as her mother, I have equipped her well enough to find strength within her to fight her own battles.

And M not only survived. She built upon her fears, and thrived, and discovered she had enough to help herself, and to lend a hand to others.

On graduation day, I celebrated the triumphant ending of another phase of her life. I know though that what will define her as a person lies ahead…in her decisions on how to give back to society…in her recognition of giving back as a responsibility and not an option…

And what will define me as a parent is the unconditional love and support that she will always have.

In the meantime, it is wonderful to have M back home…to spoil rotten… : )

GCM

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amalia
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 19:34:37

    Congratulations on the graduation! I really love your blog! Enjoy all the stories. I hope that you keep on writing 🙂

    I’m not a mother and I’m not even married yet but I do love to read parenting blogs. Are there any parenting resources (books/websites) that you can recommend?

    Reply

    • haha
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 13:52:40

      Dear Amalia,

      My apologies for the extremely late reply. We have since moved back to Tokyo, and it is a very exciting time to be back and witness Japan and the Japanese rebuild.

      I find it very interesting that your reading includes parenting subjects. No doubt that you will be an engaged parent. There is so much information available on parenting but in the end, your child will be your best teacher. She/He will let you know how to be her/his best parent.

      Let me know when you become a mother!

      GCM

      Reply

  2. Florida resident
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 13:47:18

    Dear Good Chinese Mother !
    Congratulations with the great event: graduation of your remarkable daughter from 4 year study in a college.
    Out of curiosity, may I kindly inquire, what was her “major” in college ?
    Your respectfully,
    Florida resident.

    Reply

    • haha
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 13:46:30

      Dear Florida Resident,

      My apologies for the very, very late reply. Life has been hectic since Maia’s graduation. We have since moved, and now, we are all in one city!

      Maia’s major in college was history. You will find it interesting that while people were very impressed that she was attending an Ivy League college, they often seemed embarrassed by her major. I guess they envisioned an unemployed historian.

      To be honest, I did wonder what kind of employment a history major would eventually find, but because she truly loved what she was studying, she wrote a senior thesis that garnered several awards.

      GCM

      GCM

      Reply

  3. Florida resident
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 19:43:13

    Dear Good Chinese Mother !
    Thank you for your clear reply.
    My best wishes to you, to your remarkable daughter, and to all your loved ones.
    Your respectfully, Florida resident.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

